Azpeitia is located in the foothills of the Izarraitz range. It has 14,000 inhabitants and it is one of the biggest municipalities of Gipuzkoa (69.2 km2). The town was founded by Fernando IV of Castile in 1310 under the name Garmendia de Iraurgi. The village is well known for the Shrine of Loyola as the birthplace of San Ignacio and the basilica erected in the neighbourhood of Loiola are visited by thousands of people every year.

Azpeitia is surrounded by seven neighbourhoods: Izarraitz, Aratz-erreka, Eizagirre, Elosiaga, Loiola, Odria, Oñatz, Urrestilla and Nuarbe.
The highest point of the municipality is the Erlo mountain (1025 m.) which limits with Azkoitia, Deba, Zestoa, Errezil, Bidania, Beasain, Ezkio-Itxaso and Zumarraga.

Besides the Loiola ensemble, numerous monuments in Azpeitia are worth highlighting such as the parish church of San Sebastián de Soreasu and its Chapel of Soledad, Enparan tower-house, Madalena hermitage and hospital, Antxieta palace or the Laundry place.

The main festivities are celebrated in honour of San Ignacio at the end of July. The festival of San Sebastian (20 January) and the Carnivals provide a good opportunity to have fun in Azpeitia..

Download brochure: PDF


FaLang translation system by Faboba